Drakenstein - Home  
 
Paarl, Western Cape, Republic of South Africa.  
 
You are here:
 
 
Skip navigation links
Executive Mayor
Executive Deputy Mayor
Office of the Speaker
Chief Whip
Mayoral Committee
Portfolio Committees
Political Parties
Contact a Councillor
Ward Maps
 
Mayoral Committee 

The Executive Mayor of the Drakenstein Municipality was appointed in terms of section 55 of the Municipal Structures Act. The Executive Mayor represents the public face and is the chief political principal of the municipality. In terms of legislation she has the following functions:

  • identify the needs of the municipality;
  • review and evaluate those needs in order of prioritize;
  • recommend to the Municipal Council strategies, programmes, and services to address priority needs through the Integrated Development Plan, and the estimates of revenue and expenditure, taking into account any applicable national and provincial development plans; and
  • recommend or determine the best way, including partnership and other approaches, to deliver those strategies, programmes and services to the benefit of the community.

The Executive Mayor is supported by an Executive Deputy Mayor and a Mayoral Committee.
Each member of the Mayoral Committee has a portfolio with specific functions.

The administrative arm that assists the Executive Mayor and the Mayoral committee are headed by the Municipal Manager and is task to implement the broad political objectives of Council. The Municipal Manager heads up the
administration of the Municipality.

The administration is made up of the following directorates:

  • Corporate Services,
  • Planning and Economic Development,
  • Infrastructure Services,
  • Financial Services and
  • Community Services.

 

 

.

EXECUTIVE MAYOR
CONRAD POOLE - DA

Tel: 21 807 4752
Cell: 082 497 9046/ 078 530 4285
Mayor@drakenstein.gov.za

.






 

EXECUTIVE DEPUTY MAYOR
FINANCE
GERT COMBRINK - DA

Tel: 021 807 4627
Cell: 082 455 3445
G.Combrink@drakenstein.gov.za

.

ENGINEERING SERVICES
KOOS LE ROUX - DA

Tel: 021 807 4618
Cell: 083 459 5965
Koos.leRoux@drakenstein.gov.za

.

CORPORATE SERVICES
PATRICIA MOKOENA - DA

Tel: 021 807 4589
Cell: 073 419 8671
Patricia.Mokoena@drakenstein.gov.za

.



 

PLANNING ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT & TOURISM
JOHAN MILLER - DA

Tel: 021 807 4602
Cell: 083 440 0507
Johan.Miller@drakenstein.gov.za

.

SOCIAL SERVICES
FRANCIS JACOBS - DA

Tel: 021 807 4656
Cell: 083 760 0466
Francis.Jacobs@drakenstein.gov.za

.

SPORT, RECREATION, ART & CULTURE
LAURICHIA V NIEKERK - DA

Tel: 021 807 6464
Cell: 081 885 8365
Laurichia.vanNiekerk@drakenstein.gov.za

.

HUMAN SETTLEMENTS & PROPERTY MANAGEMENT
LORRAINE WILLEMSE - DA

Tel: 021 807 6252
Cell: 082 079 9421
Lorraine.Willemse@drakenstein.gov.za

.

PUBLIC SAFETY
REAN SMUTS - DA

Tel: 021 807 4757
Cell: 082 494 8467
R.Smuts@drakenstein.gov.za

.

RURAL DEVELOPMENT
RITA ANDREAS - DA

Tel: 021 807 6468
Cell: 076 790 1066
Rita.Andreas@drakenstein.gov.za

.

COMMUNICATION AND INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS
REINHARDT V NIEUWENHUYZEN - DA

Tel: 021 807 6258
Cell: 079 523 0693
Reinhardt.vanNieuwenhuyzen@drakenstein.gov.za

.
ENVIRONMENT PARKS & OPEN SPACES
CHRISTEPHINE KEARNS - DA

Tel: 021 807 4616
Cell: 076 501 8441
Christephine.Kearns@drakenstein.gov.za
.