​​​Drakenstein WebSite     Overview



​​​The Executive Mayor of the Drakenstein Municipality was appointed in terms of section 55 of the Municipal Structures Act. The Executive Mayor represents the public face and is the chief political principal of the municipality. In terms of legislation he has the following functions:

  • Identify the needs of the municipality;
  • Review and evaluate those needs in order of prioritise;
  • Recommend to the Municipal Council strategies, programmes, and services to address priority needs through the Integrated Development Plan, and the estimates of revenue and expenditure, taking into account any applicable national and provincial development plans; and
  • Recommend or determine the best way, including partnership and other approaches, to deliver those strategies, programmes and services to the benefit of the community.

The Executive Mayor is supported by an Executive Deputy Mayor and a Mayoral Committee. Each member of the Mayoral Committee has a portfolio with specific functions. The administrative arm that assists the Executive Mayor and the Mayoral committee are headed by the Municipal Manager and is task implement the broad political objectives of Council.

The City Manager heads up the administration of the Municipality. The administration is made up of the following directorates:

City Manager

Corporate Services,

Financial Services and

Planning and Development,

Infrastructure Services,

Community Services.


Drakenstein Local Municipality is a Category B municipality and forms part of the Cape Winelands District Municipality (which also includes the Category B municipalities of Stellenbosch, Breede Valley, Witzenberg and Langeberg). It stretches from just south of the N1 freeway, including Simondium in the south, up to and including Saron in the north.

The Klein Drakenstein, Limiet and Saron mountain ranges form its eastern edge and the agricultural areas immediately to the west of the R45 form its western border. Paarl and Wellington are the main urban centres in the municipality, located in close proximity to the N1 in the south, with smaller rural settlements at Saron and Gouda in the north and Hermon in the mid-west.

Key Statistics CENSUS 2011 – Statas SA

​Total population​251,262
​Young (0-14)​25,6%
​Working Age (15-64)​69,2%
​Elderly (65+)​5,2%
​Dependency ratio​44,5
​Sex ratio​96,7
​Growth rate​2,56% (2001-2011)
​Population density​163 persons/km2

According Census 2011, Drakenstein Local Municipality has a total population of 251 262, of which 22,7% are black African, 62,5% are coloured people, 13,5% are white people, with the other population groups making up the remaining 0,4%.

Of those aged 20 years and older, 6,5% have completed primary school, 37,7% have some secondary education, 27,9% have completed​ matric and 11,9% have some form of higher education. 3,3% of those aged 20 years and older have no form of schooling.​

​Group ​Percentage
​Black African​22,7%


​Language ​Percentage